Congratulations to Volunteer Captain Robert Burgess and Senior Firefighter Jean-Remi Campion for being selected as the volunteer and career 2019 Firefighters of the Year.

The award ceremony held at Parliament House was hosted by Deputy Chief Minister Nicole Manison, Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services. Special guests included Commissioner of Police and CEO of Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services Jamie Chalker APM, Federal Member of Solomon Luke Gosling OAM and Paul Kirby Minister for Resources (NT). Volunteer Captain Robert's Eric Simmons Medal was received, on his behalf, by his wife Rebecca as Bob had volunteered for the first contingent from the NT to travel interstate to assist with the fire emergency in Queensland and NSW.

The Firefighter of the Year Award recognises the commitment, bravery, professionalism and community service of both the career and volunteer firefighters. Winners are nominated by their peers and selected by the CEO of Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services. Recipients receive the Eric Simmons Medal named in honour of Past President Eric Simmons (dec'd) who was a director of the NT Emergency Services and a member of the Rotary Club of Darwin North. In addition to the medals, the Rotary Club of Darwin North donates $1,000 on behalf of each recipient to Australian Rotary Health for ongoing research into Post Traumatic Stress Disorder as it affects emergency services personnel.

The Eric Simmons Firefighter of the Year award commenced in 2012 as a community service project of our club.. This year marked the eighth occasion on which the award has been presented.